President - Jay Kamath, J.D.

Vice President - Alan Moy M.D.

Treasurer - Katherine A. Arbuckle

Secretary - Andrew Milam


Board Members


Katherine A. Arbuckle, Former Sr. Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Ascension Health 

James Becker, M.D., Anesthesiologist, President of Des Moines Catholic Medical Association Guild


Martin M. Bednar, M.D., Ph.D., Vice President of Takeda Pharmaceuticals, Global Program Lead for dementia and Parkinson's portfolio, Former Vice Chair of Surgery and Director of Surgical Research at the University of Vermont

Isaac Doucette, Deputy Grand Knight of Knights of Columbus Iowa Council


Jay Kamath, J.D., CEO of John Paul II Medical Research Institute

Andrew Milam, Marketing and PR Coordinator of the Grotto of the Redemption


Alan Moy, M.D., Scientific Director of John Paul II Medical Research Institute, CEO, Cellular Engineering Technologies, Inc, Adjunct Associate Professor, College of Engineering, University of Iowa


Jeanne M. Moy, Director of Communications


Dan O'Brien, Ph.D., Sr. Vice President of Ethics, Discernment and Church Relations at Ascension Health


Scientific and Healthcare Advisors


Melton Affrime, Pharm. D., Senior Vice President, Translational Medicine at WCCT Global

Martin Bednar M.D., Neurosurgeon and Vice President of Takeda Pharmaceuticals, Cambridge, Massachusetts


Paul J. Camarata, M.D., Chairman of Neurosurgery, University of Kansas, Kansas City, KS


Anthony E. English, Ph.D., Associate Professor Biomedical Engineering, Western New England University, Ph.D. in Medical Engineering and Medical Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

David C. Hess, M.D., Professor and Chairman of Neurology, Medical College of Georgia


Nicholas David Jeffery, Ph.D., Professor, Neurology and Neurosurgery, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Iowa State University


Tara Sander Lee, Ph.D., Sr. Fellow and Director of Life Science, Charlotte Lozier Institute


Keith March, M.D., Professor of the Department of Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine


Stephen McGowan, M.D., Full Professor of Medicine, University of Iowa College of Medicine and Pulmonary Division Director, Iowa Veterans Administrative Hospital, Iowa City, IA


Matthew T. McLeay, M.D., M.S., Midwest Pulmonary Care/MTM Research LLC, Omaha, NE

Dan O'Brien, Ph.D., Sr. Vice President of Ethics, Discernment and Church Relations at Ascension Health


James C. Squire, Ph.D., Full Professor of Engineering at Virginia Military Institute, Ph.D. of Engineering from MIT

© 2020 John Paul II Medical Research Institute.